Creativity In Business: Sideways Thinking

Creativity can solve business problems. I love to use my creativity in business, but I’ve only recently begun learning how to do it properly.

Here are the steps I take:

  1. EXPLORE by asking probing questions and learning as much about ‘problems’ as possible;
  2. REST, which is reeeaally important for both mental health and creative success;
  3. START WITH WHITE, like a white piece of paper or white computer screen – an open canvas;
  4. ADD BLACK, working with the simplest possible text, diagrams or sketches (quick, easy, clear!);
  5. EXPRESS WITH COLOUR, bringing your creative ideas to life.

Much easier said than done of course, but that’s basically it.


Ps. Thanks to the illustrator who designed the cover of Kassia St Claire’s “The Secret Lives Of Colour” who I have copied almost pixel for pixel. I hope they don’t mind.

Leave a comment